Introduction to A Revloutionary Gospel

Our Citizenship –

 

Let’s go to Philippians 3, verse 20:

 

   for our citizenship is in heaven, from which also we eagerly wait for a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.

 

            What is the citizenship or members of the ekklesia¹*? Where did the Romans who were in Israel who were the ekklesia, hold their citizenship? In Rome!.

            It has been the intent of our enemy to convince us that the best way to influence our culture is to be a good citizen. Now stay with me. This is important. But we are not citizens of this culture if we have been truly born again, if we are living by a life that is not fallen Adam’s life, which is all the life that this world knows. We are citizens of no insignificant nation, empire, realm. Our citizenship is elsewhere.

            Also in Ephesians chapter 2, verse 19 says,

 

   So then you are no longer strangers and aliens, but you are fellow citizens with the saints and are of God’s household.

 

            Then we go back to 2 Corinthians 5:20, which says,

 

   Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were making an appeal through us; we beg you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.

 

            We are ambassadors for Christ. I want to ask you a question: Who has greater freedom and more rights in America, John Q. Citizen or the French Ambassador? The French Ambassador! The French Ambassador can come and go to places you and I cannot go as citizens of America. The French Ambassador has the audience of the President and everyone else in authority. So why is it we think that we can influence these lesser realms more by being citizens as opposed to being ambassadors? I’m suggesting to you that the enemy has confused us about our citizenship. I’m not in any way suggesting that we not take advantage of our opportunities to be a witness with our voice or our vote. I’m not saying that at all. I’m just saying that we need to know that we are doing it as an ambassador from no insignificant nation. I’m suggesting that to accept citizenship in a lesser nation, to give up our true citizenship, does not give us more influence – it mutes our influence, it undermines our influence.

            Let me illustrate. As a citizen of America it is important that America allow our children to pray in school. But I want to suggest to you (I’m doing a lot of suggesting) that the day you give to America the right to keep your children from praying in school is the day that you loose your right to pray in school. I’m suggesting to you as ambassadors, America does not have the ability, the strength, the power or the right to keep our children from praying in school. The instant that we give it to them, we’ve lost it. And it all rests in the reality that we see ourselves as more citizens of the world than the citizens of the kingdom of God. I trust this is communicating. I’m not suggesting that we can not be a voice and speak for righteousness in the midst of this fallen, and perverse, and wicked generation. I’m suggesting we have the greatest opportunities as ambassadors to be the voice they need to hear. But you’ll not be able to carry your weight if you are carrying it as a citizen. That’s a lie.

            I met a woman in China in the secret of night that spent many years in prison and she was the freest person I have ever met in my life. And she has won them from every tribe, every ethnic group in all of China. And while listening to her, I realized I still was not free to witness to my own neighbor because I had confused my citizenship.

            The ekklesia is what He is building, and she is His body and she’s a marvelous thing. And we need to see her for who she is. And we need to look for her. We need to discover her in our selves, this part of Christ, this fullness of Christ in us. We need to start speaking as ambassadors on behalf of Him into this culture.

11 Responses to “Introduction to A Revloutionary Gospel”

  1. Clark Bunch Says:

    In this last election, there was a whole movemen of Christians who thought we should not vote. Most of the argument seemed to be that the system of was evil; any political nation another Rome. I just couldn’t understand, though, when given a voice in Rome why not use it? Martin Luther spoke of being a citizen of two kingdoms, and I believe you’re very much in line with what he was thinking. We can affect our present world while working for the Kingdom of God.

  2. JeraldD Says:

    Clark,
    I agree with you that we should use the voice we have to affect the world around us. It’s just that we may have not been using all the power of our ‘position’ that being in Christ affords to us. I can see that clearly on the sidewalks accross the street from abortion clinics.
    You can’t ignore the world around you but the way it’s affected first is in the ‘heavenlies’. Our real citizenship is of another realm.

    Thanks for the comment. Hang around – there’s more coming.

    Blessings,
    –Jerald

  3. greatest influence in my life | Bookmarks URL Says:

    […] Introduction to A Revloutionary Gospel I met a woman in China in the secret of night that spent many years in prison and she was the freest person I have ever met in my life. And she has won them from every tribe, every ethnic group in all of China. … […]

  4. brotherjohnny Says:

    “I met a woman in China in the secret of night that spent many years in prison and she was the freest person I have ever met in my life. And she has won them from every tribe, every ethnic group in all of China. And while listening to her, I realized I still was not free to witness to my own neighbor because I had confused my citizenship.”

    John met Ecclesia.
    Praise the Lord!

  5. JeraldD Says:

    Yep. He met her and it obviously was an ‘in your face’ meeting. And boy, am I grateful for that meeting. From it sprung this marvelous teaching.

  6. timbob Says:

    Good morning. Something that has always puzzled me, (and perhaps I should comment when I have more time than two minutes) is that many saints seem more interested in the political system here than being ambassadors for Christ and the everlasting kingdom to come. I’m kind of off topic here, but it sometimes seems to be a misplacement of priorities. We should indeed be good citizens here, pay our taxes, allow our voice to be heard in Rome, and what have you, but our true allegance is with Jesus. As an ambassador of Christ, all of our words and actions should be to the furtherment of the kingdom of God. Just as the ambassador of France would engage in actions and debatings that would seek to promote the interests of France.

    I’ll have to stop by whe I can read this more slowly. Thanks for the ponderings. Have a blessed day in Jesus.

    timbob

  7. JeraldD Says:

    You must have read it pretty good the first time, Timbob. You are absolutely right in saying that the Ambassador of ??????????? should engage in issues and actions that promote the interests of his own country. That’s his primary job.
    I wonder why Christians have such a hard time understanding this concept?

  8. darla Says:

    Heaven is my home…

  9. Jerald Says:

    Hello Darla. Glad to have you here.
    Heaven is my home too but for now I’m a stranger in a strange land. I’m a citizen of another realm. My king rules over a kingdom that is not of this world.
    Blessings…

  10. brotherjohnny Says:

    Just a quick thought…
    If we are citizens of the Realm of God, and His ambassadors here, that kind of makes the ecclesia something of an embassy, doesn’t it?

    Neato…

    What an honor to be representatives of the One True King of Kings!!!

  11. jeraldd Says:

    Your “quick thought” is exactly on the mark and is just what I was trying to convey. Just like Paul stated in Ephesians 6:19 – 20 where he makes it clear that he’s an ambassador of the gospel – the kingdom of God – the reign – this revolutionary gospel!

Leave a Reply

