How Satan Got There

There’s someone else in the Garden. He’s already crafty. He’s already an enemy of God. Whatever happened in the realm of the heavenlies, it has already taken place because the serpent is already there.

Let’s go to Isaiah, chapter 14. How did this other personality get there? In Isaiah chapter 14, we have one of those prophecies where God sneaks in another prophecy. This happens often in many of the prophecies concerning the coming of the Messiah. For example, in the 22nd chapter of Psalms we have the clearest picture of the crucifixion of Christ. This prophecy is woven into the midst of a Psalm with a totally different context.

By the way, God hides. Have I said that to you before? “It’s the glory of God to hide a matter; it’s the glory of kings to search out a matter” (see Proverbs 25:2). And we are a kingdom of kings and priests. He hides a matter. So some things can only be understood by those who are on the inside – to those whom he is going to show the mysteries of the kingdom. We’ll talk more about that later.

But here in verse 12, is a prophesy concerning the king of Babylon. Verse 3:

And it will be in the day when the Lord gives you rest from your pain and turmoil and harsh service in which you have been enslaved, that you will take up this taunt against the king of Babylon, and say, “How the oppressor has ceased, And how fury has ceased!”

And so we have this taunt against the king of Babylon. We get down to verse 12 and something happens.

How you have fallen from heaven, O star of the morning, son of the dawn!

This is not the king of Babylon.

You have been cut down to the earth.

He comes from some place other than the earth.You who have weakened the nations!

But you said in your heart, “I will ascend to heaven;

I will raise my throne above the stars of God,

And I will sit on the mount of assembly in the recesses of the north.

I will ascend above the heights of the clouds;

I will make myself like the Most High.”

Who are we talking about? Satan! Most scholars, from early days of Israel, following this prophecy, they have held that this is referring to Satan, Lucifer, Beelzebub, the devil. Why was he cast down to the earth? Well, the scripture tells us:

But you said in your heart, “I will…”

You will notice that five times in this Scripture he says, “I will…”

“I will ascend to heaven.”

“I will raise my throne above the stars of God…”

“I will sit on the mount of assembly…”

“I will ascend above the heights of the clouds;”

“I will make myself like the Most High.”

This is the principle of Satan, the “I will.”

It is the principle of Christ; it is the precept of Christ: Not my will.”

The “I will” is what has brought Satan down. And Satan is not in your just voting for his will. He’s quite happy to encourage you to make your own will. He did not ask Adam and Eve to vote for him. He just asked Adam and Eve to vote for Adam and Eve, just like he’s been encouraging you to vote for yourself. You have not been called for your life or for your ambitions, for your desires. You’ve not been called for that. You’ve not been created for that. You have been created like I have been created – for the King.

We are like an automobile. Automobiles are made for gas. They can not run without the gas. You can push it along; you might even find a hill and push it up to the top and give it a little kick and it’ll be over the edge. You can run and jump in and ride it down but it is still powerless to be what it was created to be. Like a light bulb – a light bulb without electricity can be a very pretty light bulb in a very beautiful lamp and a beautiful lamp shade but without that for which it was created, it is worthless. It is the same for a lamp and oil or man and God. We might think this is life but this is not life. This is death. And the day that you eat of that tree, you will die. And on that day, spiritual man died. And, it wasn’t until Christ Jesus that the new birth, or regeneration, that man was finally able to be where God could plant His Spirit within them.

Not only has He created us, regenerated us, given us a new Spirit – I’m referring to Ezekiel 36, where God says, “I will put my Spirit within you.” We now have this capacity in Christ Jesus for the Spirit. It is the “I will” that is the principle of Satan. Some time before Adam and Eve encountering the serpent, the enemy has been cast down. This is important.

The Most Beautiful Evil –

Let’s go to Ezekiel chapter 28 where we have another one of those prophecies. We’ll begin in verse 11:

           Again the word of the Lord came to me saying, “Son of man, take up a lamentation over the king of Tyre and say to him…”

Now, even though it starts out talking about the king of Tyre, it is evident almost from the beginning that He’s not talking about the king of Tyre for much of this prophecy.

        ‘Thus says the Lord God, “You had the seal of perfection, Full of wisdom and  perfect in beauty. You were in Eden, the garden of God;”

Listen to that. Where was this person?

“You were in Eden, the garden of God;

Every precious stone was your covering;

The ruby, the topaz and the diamond;

The beryl, the onyx and the jasper;

The lapis lazuli, the turquoise and the emerald;

And the gold, the workmanship of your settings and sockets was in you.

On the day that you were created they were prepared.”

He’s a created being. We read that from Colossians 1:16. He was created for Christ; by Christ; for Christ.

“You were the anointed cherub who covers…”

That’s not the king of Tyre. And just so you will know, at one time there were three anointed cherubs. If you look on the Ark of the Covenant, how many are there? Two! But there was one, perhaps there was just one at the beginning, I don’t really know, but it’s clear that,

“You were the anointed cherub who covers,

And I placed you there.

You were in the holy mountain of God;

You walked in the midst of the stones of fire.

You were blameless in your ways from the day you were created

Until unrighteousness was found in you.

By the abundance of your trade you were internally filled with violence and you sinned;

Therefore I have cast you as profane from the mountain of God.

And I have destroyed you, O covering cherub,

From the midst of the stones of fire.

Your heart was lifted up because of your beauty,

You corrupted your wisdom by reason of your splendor.

I cast you to the ground;

I put you before kings,

That they may see you.”

And that is going on now. But, you’ve got to ask a question: When did this all take place, because Adam and Eve are young at this time? All you have to do is go through the chronology, genealogy, to the number of years to the first son to see that we’re down to just a handful, a couple of handfuls of years at most, that they encounter the serpent in the Garden. So, when was this one created who held this mighty place, who walked in God’s Garden of Eden? We’ve got a problem, don’t we?

8 Responses to “How Satan Got There”

  1. Marie Says:

    I need to read and digest this every day. Not my will, but Thine, Oh LORD!

    Love you.

  2. brotherjohnny Says:

    I can remember a certain church that we used to attend years ago where it seemed as if most of their worship songs had an awful lot of “I wills” in them.
    “I will worship you…”
    “I will follow you…”
    “I will sing of your love forever…”

    Of course I recognize how, in themselves, these are simple statements and meant in a positive way. However, there can also be a very subtle yet powerful undercurrent of deception which serves to put “I” on the throne, so to speak:

    “I will be a good Christian”.

    No. HE is the good CHRISTian in you.

    All praise to the Lord Jesus Christ!

  3. Jerald Says:

    Yes Marie, I’m with you. I still need a reminder of these principals every day.

    But Johnny, isn’t it up to me to be “good?”
    Thanks for your insight.

  4. darla Says:

    Awesome post! The pride in the “I will” is a like a red flag to me..but thinking about some of the old conservative churches I grew up in..I think they missed “Self loathing” as prideful, or false humility.

    The enemy is at large in our churches, and more posts like this need to be written, and pastors need to be preaching it…instead I am finding that a lot of believers, although they say they know there is an enemy, highly underestimate him, and know very little about their adversary. I don’t believe he is behind every bush..but he is behind one of them! 😉

    “not my will, but yours be done, O Lord”

  5. Jerald Says:

    You got it Darla. Even when we are pleading for circumstances to change so that we don’t have to go through ‘stuff’, we still put our will behind His.

  6. Us or Him? An attempted unravelling of a paradox wrapped in enigma. « PHOENIX RISING Says:

    […] thanks to a question asked by Brother Jerald Hill, I have concocted a brief response which I hope in some small way points to the explanation of what […]

  7. wesleyhuth Says:

    This is powerful my dear brother! I am so encouraged by the insight in this post. Thank you for your obedience and passion for the Lord, it spurs me on. I love you guys so much and praise the Lord for your prayers and support. I am praying He continues to encounter you both with a spirit of wisdom and revelation! Love you both.

  8. jeraldd Says:

    Wesley, I’m more confident now than ever before that I’ll have that spirit of wisdom and revelation – you’ve prayed for us! Thank you.

    We think of you and pray for you often.

    Blessings on you too, brother. We miss seeing you.

Leave a Reply

